Alumnae Chapter


2018-2019 Executive Board

President: Sallie Baldwin

Vice President, Membership: Amanda Wilson & Jane Ann Bradbury

Vice President, Program: Sheila Dennis 

Vice President, Ritual: Shayna Stahl 

Recording Secretary: Amanda Wilson

Corresponding Secretary: Sheila Dennis

Treasurer: Melissa Johnson

​Editor Tempo/Pan Pipes: Janice Gockel

Newsletter Editor: Monica Chilton

Inactive and Distinguished Members

Inactive Members                         Members Laureate                       National Honorary Members

Monica Allen                                 Dr. Gloria Swisher                         Renata Scotto

Florence Day                                Lynne Palmer (d.2010)                 Diane Schmidt

Dr. Myrna Eden                                                                                  Patricia Michaelian

Ashley Gianninoti                          Friends of the Arts                        Mary Curtis-Verna     

Patricia Jaeger                              Dr. Charles Enlow

Krista Mercier                                Erik Hanson                                  National Arts Associate  

Rae Terpenning                             Dr. Michael Matesky                     Dr. Melvin J. Butler              

                                                      Dr. Kenneth Rhoads (d.2014)                                               

                                                      Norman Vowles (d.2003)                                                    

Active Members

​Gerri Allsopp                               Melissa Johnson

Melissa Appel                             Judith Stoffel Loewen

Sallie Baldwin                             Nancy Matesky

Gladys Bath                                Betty Lou McGowan

Carol Biles                                  Phyllis Mines

Jane Ann Bradbury                     Maureen Murray

Monica Chilton                            Sasa Schwartz

Kate Abel Cristofersen                Louanne Shelton

Sheila Dennis                              Holly Smith

Kitty Dow                                     Shayna Stahl

Jeanie Duval-Hemmen                Lauren Trew

Karin Fleegal                               Amanda Wilson

Ember Aasta Fry                           Wendy Woolsey

Janice Hildman Gockel               

About our Chapter

​The Seattle Alumnae Chapter started meeting as a group in 1949 and was chartered as a chapter in 1951. Sadly, out chapter lost the last two remaining charter members, Carol Beaumier and Charlotte Totten, in 2016. Both members had been active participants in the chapter to the end.  Many of our other members have been with the chapter for a very long time, have served our chapter as officers, and have received the highest honors of the fraternity.

The Chapter received the Province Outstanding Alumnae Chapter Award in 2011-2012 as well as the National Alumnae Chapter Achievement Award for 2013-2014 during the presidency of Judy Stoffel Loewen.

Several individual members have also received national honors.  Dr. Gloria Swisher is a national Member Laureate who has served on the Pan Pipes staff, as Secretary for SAI Philanthropies, Inc. and as Editor for the 1990 SAI Songbook.  Nancy Matesky received the Nation Alumnae Leadership Award (Diamond Sword of Honor) in 2001.  In 2011, Krista Mercier was given an SAI Professional Development Grant for Yoga Teacher Training.  Lauren Trew received the 2015 National Treasurer Award and, most recently, the chapter awarded Jane Ann Bradbury the Seattle Alumnae Chapter "Heart Award" for her loving care of all her SAI sisters.